Thank you for another fantastic Flora Day..!

We would like to thank everyone who helped to make Flora Day 2018 so memorable for the members of Helston Town Band.

We were honoured to be led around the town by our Musical Director, Kevin Johns, who was assisted in the Childrens' and Midday Dances by Martin Pascoe and Ian Edwards. You did us proud.




A big 'well done' to Ashley Chinn who for the first time, had the honour of starting each dance on the bass drum and admirably kept the rhythm going for the entire day, assisted by Jack Curnow in the second band.

This year, around a dozen brilliant young players from Lowenna Thrussell's Student Brass Group took part for the first time, as did the band's newest recruits Lynn Richards (Flugel, who surpassed the "Blue Anchor down in one challenge"), Steve Thomas (Euphonium) and Terry Broughal (Cornet). Well done to you all!



In contrast, we were especially proud of two of our well-known veteran players; Russell Harvey, who was taking part in his 72nd Flora Day and Keith Busby, who first played on Flora Day 60 years ago.  Congratulations to you both.

Thank you to the numerous friends/guest players, many from neighbouring bands including Camborne, Porthleven, St Keverne, Pendeen, Breage and Wendron, who support us each year and played alongside us, the Concert Band, the Youth Band and the Student Brass Group, as we formed 2 large groups..

On Cornet:

David Pascoe Graham Pascoe, Catriona Taylor, Barrie Trevena, Neil Bassett, Beccy Noall, Sue Noall, Tegen Davis, Felicity Blight, Tamsin Benner, Gillian Allen, Steve Allen, Demelza Sturges, Richard Rowe, Sharon Dower, Steve Clapton, Bridget Rustell, David Barnes, Nigel Winfield, Treve Benney & Issey Lees.

On Horn:

Teresa Smith, Suzanne Willey, Roger Gluyas, Kim Wilson, Mary Louise Combellack, Megan Timpson, Liz Bawden & Amy McGroary.

On Baritone/Euphonium:

Tim Wingham, Will Orchard, Julie Johnson-Little, Dave Vaughan, Barry Skinner, Dennis Carslake, Debbie Campbell, Alison Yould & Pete Bawden.

On Trombone:

Nick Searle, Mike Hall, Helen Reed, Royston Dower, Viv Collins, Malcolm Bassett & Kevin Dower.

On Bass:

Kevin Meagor, Tom Bassett, Mark Laverty, Tom Kennedy & Robert Wilton.

On Drum:

Simon Wills, Dilly Thomas, Matthew Bennetts, Andrew Elston, Mike Wilde, Simon Taylor, Trev Worth & Josh Bibby.

Thank you to the proprietors of Bowdens Home Hardware, who kindly provided a base for our super group of collectors comprising:

Alan Trewhella, Laurence Penrose, Fred Angove, Rev. Danny Reed, Jamie King, Colin Retallack, Brian Dale, John Reynolds, Chrise Trerise, Bill Bly, Colin Heatley, Michelle Rustell, John Boase, Sharon Strike, Anna Harrington, Jon Mayall, Hilary Finch, Simon Wills, Stuart Richards, Tracey Robinson, Kathryn Mitchell, Mary Hasker and Samuel, Rob McKellar and Stuart Harvey.

Thank you for The Godolphin Club, for their wonderful breakfasts and for their hospitality throughout the day.

We are grateful to all of the numerous organisations and representatives in the town, including the Flora Day Association, the Town Council and the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Gillian Geer, for the work they do.

Above all, a special thank you to the people of Helston, from us all, for supporting the band on Flora Day and throughout the year...